Wednesday, January 28, 2015 Shevat 8, 5775
Organization:
Germantown Jewish Centre
Cost:
No registration necessary

Location

400 West Ellet Street
Philadelphia, PA 19119
Comment0
The Germantown Jewish Centre (GJC) has been the heart of the Jewish community in Northwest Philadelphia and the surrounding suburbs for 75 years. We are a vibrant, pluralistic and egalitarian synagogue located in Mount Airy and committed to

Interfaith MLK Celebration

January 20, 2013 3:00 PM

Working Together for Peace: Continuing the Legagy of MLK & NIM (Northwest Philadelphia’s 30th Annual Interfaith MLK Celebration)

Once again the faith communities of Northwest Philadelphia proudly sponsor this interfaith community event featuring music, dance and poetry by Abdul Azizz and Roberto Rashid (Masjidullah), Germantown Jewish Centre Choir, Second Baptist Youth Choir, St. Michael’s Lutheran Church Youth Liturgical Dance Team.

The program will also include reflections on interfaith cooperation by Rabbi Linda Holtzman (Mishkan Shalom), Rev. Cheryl Pyrch (Summit Presbyterian Church), Imam Mikal Shabazz (Masjidullah), and Eric Wilden (My Way).

GJC member Stan Diamond will also be remembered for his pioneering effort in creating the first community MLK celebration 30 years ago.

Light refreshments to follow.

More Events from Germantown Jewish Centre

Sun. Feb 1
10:00 AM
"Making Good Neighbors" with Author Abigail Perkiss At Germantown Jewish Centre Sunday, February 1 at 10 AM
Listed In:
Sat. Feb 7
6:00 PM
Tot Havdallah JAM with Chana Rothman At Germantown Jewish Centre Saturday, February 7 at 6 PM
Sun. Feb 8
4:00 PM
House of Worship Tour at Germantown Jewish Centre Sunday, February 8 at 4 PM
Tue. Feb 10
7:15 PM
Germantown Jewish Centre’s People of the Book Group Tuesday, February 10 at 7:15 PM 
Wed. Feb 11
10:00 AM
Germantown Jewish Centre’s Hazak (55 +) Book Group Wednesday, February 11 @ 10 AM

Browse the Calendar

Filter by Date
E.g., 2015-01-28
E.g., 2015-01-28
Advertisement

The Calendar

Thu. Jan 29
Old York Road Temple-Beth Am
9:30 AM
Thu. Jan 29
Lunch and Learn
Beth Chaim Reform Congregation
12:00 PM

Subscribe To our E-Newsletter

Advertisement