Tuesday, December 1, 2015 Kislev 19, 5776
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
No Charge
8339 Old York Road
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Keneseth Israel, founded in March 1847, was the fourth congregation to be established by the expanding Jewish community of Philadelphia. Orthodox in observance at first, KI adopted reform in 1855, and thus became the first progressive congregation

Iftar Dinner at KI

July 28, 2013 7:00 PM
On Sunday evening July 28 Keneseth Israel will host its third Iftar dinner.  The program begins at 7pm so that the Muslims in attendance can break their fast at sunset. An Iftar is a special fast-breaking dinner for Muslims during their holy month of Ramadan. In addition to fasting, Muslims remember their role in their communities as providers for the poor and people in need during Ramadan. Two Muslim groups, Dialogue Forum and Peace Islands Institute encourage their members to promote a better understanding of Islam and Muslims by organizing and sponsoring Iftar dinners. They reach out to other religious communities to promote a diverse involvement in this “Ramadan Experience.”

More Events from Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel

Thu. Dec 3
11:30 AM
Adult Education: Maimonides Café with Rabbi Stacy Rigler Thursday, December 3 11:30 a.m.
Fri. Dec 4
8:00 PM
Friday, December 4. Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel, 8339 Old York Road, Elkins Park, PA. For more information, call 215-887-8700.
Sat. Dec 5
9:00 AM
Saturdays, December 5, 12, 19, 26 at 9:00 a.m. Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel, 8339 Old York Road, Elkins Park, PA.
Thu. Dec 10
11:30 AM
Adult Education: Menachem Begin: A Man of Contrasts Thursday, December 10 11:30 a.m.

Browse the Calendar

Filter by Date
E.g., 2015-12-01
E.g., 2015-12-01

The Calendar

Tue. Dec 1
6:00 PM-7:00 PM
Wed. Dec 2
Gratz College Annual Chanukah Bazaar
Gratz College
9:00 AM-3:00 PM

Subscribe To our E-Newsletter