Sunday, November 29, 2015 Kislev 17, 5776
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
Free and open to the public
8339 Old York Road
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Keneseth Israel, founded in March 1847, was the fourth congregation to be established by the expanding Jewish community of Philadelphia. Orthodox in observance at first, KI adopted reform in 1855, and thus became the first progressive congregation

Book Discussion - Nemesis by Philip Roth

April 10, 2013 1:30 PM

An adult book discussion group take place on Tuesday April 9 at 1:30 p.m. and Wednesday April 10 at 10:30 a.m. We will discuss Nemesis by Philip Roth. Come to either the Tuesday or Wednesday session. Nemesis is a work of fiction. It takes place during the summer of 1944. The plot revolves around a polio epidemic and how it affects the Jewish community in Newark, New Jersey.

Roth examines the themes of disease, fear, panic, anger, guilt, bewilderment, suffering, and pain. He has said that Nemesis will be his last novel.

More Events from Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel

Mon. Nov 30
2:30 PM
Adult Education: “The Jazz Singer: From the Melting Pot to Multicultural America” Monday, November 30 2:30 p.m.
Thu. Dec 3
11:30 AM
Adult Education: Maimonides Café with Rabbi Stacy Rigler Thursday, December 3 11:30 a.m.
Fri. Dec 4
8:00 PM
Friday, December 4. Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel, 8339 Old York Road, Elkins Park, PA. For more information, call 215-887-8700.
Sat. Dec 5
9:00 AM
Saturdays, December 5, 12, 19, 26 at 9:00 a.m. Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel, 8339 Old York Road, Elkins Park, PA.

Browse the Calendar

Filter by Date
E.g., 2015-11-29
E.g., 2015-11-29

The Calendar

Mon. Nov 30
Old York Road Temple-Beth Am
7:30 PM

Subscribe To our E-Newsletter