Tuesday, July 28, 2015 Av 12, 5775
Organization:
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
Cost:
Free and open to the public
Location:
8339 Old York Road
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Comment0
Keneseth Israel, founded in March 1847, was the fourth congregation to be established by the expanding Jewish community of Philadelphia. Orthodox in observance at first, KI adopted reform in 1855, and thus became the first progressive congregation

Book Discussion - Nemesis by Philip Roth

April 10, 2013 1:30 PM

An adult book discussion group take place on Tuesday April 9 at 1:30 p.m. and Wednesday April 10 at 10:30 a.m. We will discuss Nemesis by Philip Roth. Come to either the Tuesday or Wednesday session. Nemesis is a work of fiction. It takes place during the summer of 1944. The plot revolves around a polio epidemic and how it affects the Jewish community in Newark, New Jersey.

Roth examines the themes of disease, fear, panic, anger, guilt, bewilderment, suffering, and pain. He has said that Nemesis will be his last novel.
 

More Events from Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel

Sat. Aug 1
9:00 AM
Saturdays, August 1, 8, 15, 22, 29  at 9:00 a.m.
Mon. Aug 3
12:00 PM
Mondays, August 3, 10, 17, 24, 31 
Fri. Aug 7
8:00 PM
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel, 8339 Old York Road, Elkins Park, PA. For more information, call 215-887-8700.
Fri. Aug 21
7:00 PM
Informal Shabbat service. Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel, 8339 Old York Road, Elkins Park, PA. For more information, call 215-887-8700.
Fri. Aug 28
8:00 PM
Shabbat evening service with a special sermon by Rabbi Sussman, a trained historian in the field of American Jewish History.

Browse the Calendar

Filter by Date
E.g., 2015-07-28
E.g., 2015-07-28
Advertisement

The Calendar

Tue. Jul 28
JEVS Career Strategies
11:00 AM-7:00 PM
Wed. Jul 29
National Museum of American Jewish History
10:30 AM-5:30 PM

Subscribe To our E-Newsletter

Advertisement