Tuesday, September 27, 2016 Elul 24, 5776
Organization:
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
Cost:
Free and open to the public
Location:
8339 Old York Road
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Comment0
Keneseth Israel, founded in March 1847, was the fourth congregation to be established by the expanding Jewish community of Philadelphia. Orthodox in observance at first, KI adopted reform in 1855, and thus became the first progressive congregation

Book Discussion 2 - Nemesis by Philip Roth

April 10, 2013 10:30 AM
We will discuss Nemesis by Philip Roth. Nemesis is awork of fiction. It takes place during the summer of 1944. The plot revolves around a polio epidemic and how it affects the Jewish community in Newark, New Jersey. Roth examines the themes of disease, fear, panic, anger, guilt, bewilderment, suffering, and pain. He has said that Nemesis will be his last novel.
 

More Events from Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel

Wed. Oct 12
3:30 PM
Afternoon & Memorial Services followed by Neilah Visitors will be asked to provide identification and sign in.
Fri. Oct 14
8:00 PM
Social Action Shabbat with guest speaker Dr. Clarence D. Armbrister, President of Girard College Friday, October 14 8:00 p.m.
Sun. Oct 16
11:00 AM
Women of Keneseth Israel Opening Brunch Sunday, October 16 11:00 a.m.
Wed. Oct 19
10:00 AM
Adult Education: Hebrew Wednesday, October 19 10:00 a.m.
Thu. Oct 20
11:30 AM
Adult Education: Film Noir Thursday, October 20 11:30 a.m.

Browse the Calendar

Filter by Date
E.g., 2016-09-27
E.g., 2016-09-27
Advertisement

The Calendar

Tue. Sep 27
Temple Beth Zion-Beth Israel
7:00 PM-9:00 PM
Wed. Sep 28
KleinLife (formerly known as Klein JCC)
10:00 AM-12:00 PM
KleinLife

Subscribe To our E-Newsletter