Wednesday, April 23, 2014 Nisan 23, 5774
Organization:
Germantown Jewish Centre
Cost:
Advanced registration necessary

Location

400 West Ellet Street
Philadelphia  Pennsylvania  19119
United States
Comment0
The Germantown Jewish Centre (GJC) has been the heart of the Jewish community in Northwest Philadelphia and the surrounding suburbs for 75 years.

A Magical Mystery Tour of Midrash

February 25, 2013 7:00 PM-8:30 PM

A Magical Mystery Tour of Midrash

Living Room Learning by Germantown Jewish Centre, taught by Ellen Frankel

Begins Monday, February 25

Using Howard Schwartz's midrashic novella, The Four Who Entered Paradise, we will look at a tapestry of midrashic and kabbalistic narratives centered around the evocative talmudic story about arba she-nichnesu le-pardes, the four sages who went on a mystical journey, from which only one emerged whole. The course will explore the midrashic imagination and its many modes of expression. Course will meet offsite at a private home in Mt. Airy. Details will be provided upon registration.

Four Sessions:  Mon 7-8:30 pm • Feb 25; Mar 4, 11, 18. Advanced registration necessary, cost is $50 for GJC Members and $65 for non-members.

For more information contact 215-844-1507, Ext. 19 or program@germantownjewishcentre.org

More Events from Germantown Jewish Centre

Fri. May 30
6:00 PM
Germantown Jewish Centre’s Kol Zimrah Service
Sat. Jun 7
10:00 AM
Germantown Jewish Centre’s Kol D'mamah Contemplative Service Saturday, June 7 at 10 AM  
Tue. Jun 10
7:15 PM
Germantown Jewish Centre’s People of the Book Group Tuesday, February 11 at 7:15 PM 
Wed. Jun 11
10:00 AM-11:30 AM
Germantown Jewish Centre’s Hazak (55 +) Book Group Wednesday, February 19 @ 10 AM
Fri. Jun 27
6:00 PM
Germantown Jewish Centre’s Kol Zimrah Service

Browse the Calendar

Filter by Date
E.g., 2014-04-23
E.g., 2014-04-23
Advertisement

The Calendar

Wed. Apr 23
Institute for Jewish Ethics
9:00 AM
Wed. Apr 23
Old York Road Temple-Beth Am
10:00 AM
Wed. Apr 23
Old York Road Temple-Beth Am
10:00 AM

Subscribe To our E-Newsletter

Subscribe to Jewish Exponent Email List

Sign up for our Newsletter

Advertisement