Newsmakers the Week of Sept. 19


Jonathan S. Tobin, senior online editor of Commentary magazine and past editor of the Jewish Exponent, was part of a national panel discussing “Twenty Years After Oslo: Where Next for U.S. Policy?” along with Daniel Pipes, president, Middle East Forum; Aaron David Miller, vice president for New Initiatives and Distinguished Scholar, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars; and Elan Journo, director of policy research at the Ayn Rand Institute. The discussion was held at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

The much-honored Marciarose Shestack, a legendary pioneer in broadcast journalism — including her work as anchor at KYW-TV — was honored by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences/Mid-Atlantic Chapter with its Board of Governors Award during Emmy winner announcements earlier this month. The broadcaster — known to colleagues and audiences by one name, Marciarose — was cited for her nearly 60 years as a broadcast journalist and innovator. Among her other credits: She played Reporter # 3 in Air Force One — produced by her son, Jonathan.

Mark Segal, who founded the Philadelphia Gay News in 1976, has been inducted into the LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame. The honor took place during the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association’s recent conference in Boston.

The Zionist Organization of America-Greater Philadelphia District will hand out four honors when it celebrates its annual gala on Oct. 9 at the Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue. Communal leader Gary Erlbaum will be the master-of ceremonies for the gala, at which awards will go to keynote speaker Nonie Darwish, founder of Arabs for Israel, recipient of the Ben Hecht Award for Outstanding Journalism; Rabbi Eric Yanoff, religious leader of Temple Adath Israel,  the Guardian of Israel Award; state Sen. Anthony Williams, the Friend of Zion Award; and Ruth C. and Mort B. Gleit, recipients of the first Amudei Ha’Kehillah Award as “Pillars of the Community.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here