Newsmakers the Week of August 22, 2013


Philadelphian Rachel Isenberg will be scaling California’s Mount Whitney on Sunday, Aug. 25, as a fundraiser for the Parkinson’s Disease Foundation. Taking on the 14,505-foot mountain for the PDF hits home — Isenberg’s mother is afflicted with the disease.

They are “Women of Distinction,” and the Mid-Atlantic Region of American Associates Ben-Gurion University of the Negev is honoring them this fall: Lynne M. Abraham, attorney and former Philly district attorney; Marilyn Price Birnhak, president/Weight Watchers of Philadelphia; Jane Golden, executive director/ Phila­delphia Mural Arts Program; Dr. Lori J. Goldstein, director/ the Breast Cancer Research Program at Fox Chase Cancer Center; Eileen R. Heisman, president/CEO, National Philanthropic Trust; and Lisa J. Scheller, chairman of Silberline, Inc.

It’s a new slate of officers for the Philadelphia Jewish Archives Center. Beginning in their posts on Sept. 1 are Isador Kranzel and Rhena Kelsen, co-presidents; Charles Finder, Joan R. Greenfield, Dr. Morton Langsfeld III and Susan A. Popkin, vice presidents; Marsha Friedman, secretary; and Thomas Perloff, treasurer.

Robert Adelson, managing partner of Osage Partners, has been named to the board of directors of the Free Library of Philadelphia Foundation.

Aaron Kaufman, executive director of Penn State Hillel, has been named one of seven recipients of the 2013 Richard M. Joel Exemplar of Excellence Award from Hillel: The Foundation for Jewish Campus Life. The honor was presented during Hillel’s annual professional institute, held this year at Washington University in St. Louis.

Tom Baker, the William Maul Measey Professor of Law and Sciences at the U of PLaw School, received the Robert B. McKay Law Professor Award for his commitment “to advancing justice, scholarship and the legal profession” exemplified by his work in tort and insurance law. The presentation of the American Bar Association award was made during the ABA’s annual conclave in San Francisco.

The Forum of Executive Women has named its leadership for 2013-14, including president Nila Betof; treasurer Gloria Rabinowitz ; and board members Robin Neifield, Carole Weintraub and Jane Firth.

Neil Hurowitz, special counsel to Astor Weiss Kaplan & Mandel, was honored recently with the Eric Turner Memorial Award by the Family Law Section of the Pennsylvania Bar Association for his work in the field. The honor — which came with a donation in the winner’s name to Lawyers Concerned for Lawyers — was accorded at the association’s summer gathering in National Harbor, Md.

Joel Feldman of the legal firm Anapol Schwartz was honored with the American Association for Justice’s 2013 Pro Bono Award at its annual meeting, held in San Francisco. One of two national winners of the honor, Feldman was recognized for his initiation of the End Distracted Driving program.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here